Image default
News Politics

DP Ruto dismisses call for rotational presidency

Deputy President William Ruto has yet again slammed President Uhuru Kenyatta over remarks that the presidency has been dominated by two communities and that it was time for other communities to take charge.

Speaking in Bomet County on Friday, DP Ruto, who was joined by former area Governor Isaac Rutto, said leaders should be elected based on their development track-record adding that gone were the days when leaders were elected based on their tribes.

“We want to tell those telling us about rotational presidency or rotational leadership that we are not interested in leadership that is arrived at through rotary on ethnicity or clan or other petty issues. We want leaders to be elected on account of their vision, plan and  manifesto,” said the DP.

Dr. Ruto reiterated that the ongoing clamor for change of the Constitution through the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) was not a priority for Kenyans at the moment.

“I want to tell these friends of ours that Kenyans know what is the priority for them. Kenyans know that changing the constitution and creation of additional positions and seats for a few politicians is not a priority. The focus right is to attend to the needs of the ordinary people and the economy to make sure that every hustle counts,” he said.

Ruto was in Bomet to among other things commission several projects, hand over a bus to the National Super League side Silibwet FC and preside over a fundraiser for boda boda Saccos in Sotik.

He was accompanied by Governors Hillary Barchok (Bomet), Paul Chepkwony (Kericho), MPs Christopher Lang’at (Bomet), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Joyce Korir (Woman Rep, Bomet), Joseph Limo (Kipkelion East), Hillary Kosgei (Kipkelion West), Nelson Koech (Belgut), Dominic Kosgei (Sotik), Feisal Bader (Msambweni), Brighton Yegon (Konoin), Gideon Koskei (Chepalungu), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East) and Ronald Tanui (Bomet Central).

Others were Rigathi Gachagua (Mathira), Gabriel Tongoyo (Narok West), Vincent Kimose (West Mugirango), Joash Nyamoko (North Mugirango), David Ole Sankok (nominated), Soipan Tuya (Narok), Halima Mucheke (nominated), Rehema Jaldesa (Isiolo), Johana Ng’eno (Emurua Dikirr) and Charles Nyachae (Judge of the East African Court of Justice).

The deputy president also targeted ODM leader Raila Odinga with sharp barbs saying he had derailed the government’s big 4 agenda.

Dr. Ruto said since 2013, Jubilee had endeavored to fulfill its promises to Kenyans until when the Opposition joined the government.

Related posts